Creating my VM using my current server config.

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by pfiltz, Apr 17, 2019.

  1. pfiltz

    pfiltz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very, Very newb question for everyone. I'm just now dipping my toe into the VM world. I understand the concept of it for the most basic part. I've played around with Windows Hyper-v and VMware software in the past year or so.

    I have a production server running 2012 R2 server that we use daily. This server has an application installed on it, that has been tweaked over the past year or so.

    I've created an image of this server with Macrium Reflect 7 so I can restore it in case of a disaster. Data is stored on another drive, and is backed up to 3 different places.

    OK, now to my point.

    Yes, I can create and have created a 2012 R2 server on proxmox. I've figured out how to access it from my PC runn UNVC. So we're good there.

    Having said this, without that application on the VM, it's really pointless going forward.

    How would one get your VM setup to be exactly like your production server with all the app's installed as they are now, which has cost us thousands of dollars over the past year or so....

    I can't find any program on the web to create an ISO from this image. I'm not sure if the backup program built in 2012 R2 will create an ISO to be honest yet.

    Thoughts?

    TIA
     
  2. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,591
    Likes Received:
    305
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. pfiltz

    pfiltz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks W.

    Yeah, I knew it wasn't directly related to Virtualization, but I was wondering with a server that has already been setup and applications installed, how one would get that config to a VM.

    I'll play with some P2V software and see if the output file will import to Prox.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice