Can't figure out which ZFS version I am running or how to upgrade

proxmoxuser3000

Apr 10, 2019
I believe that I am experiencing a ZFS bug. It is issue # 6171 over on GitHub under the zfsonlinux project. Sorry that I can't post the link due to forum rules for new users :/

I am trying to make sure that my ZFS packages are upgraded, but I can't tell whether I'm on the newest version or not. I have a community subscription. I am running Proxmox 5.3 on top of Debian stretch. Below I have pasted the results of my attempts to find out the version. Also, apt update; apt-upgrade says that I am up to date.

Any ideas would be appreciated, as this ZFS bug is making my server almost unusable for important tasks.

Thank you.

Dpkg says I am running 0.7.13-pve1:

# dpkg -l zfsutils-linux

Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name Version Architecture Description
+++-==========================-==================-==================-=========================================================
ii zfsutils-linux 0.7.13-pve1~bpo2 amd64 command-line tools to manage OpenZFS filesystems​

but checking the kernel module, it thinks I'm only running 0.7.6.1:

# cat /sys/module/zfs/version
0.7.6-1​

Last edited:
but checking the kernel module, it thinks I'm only running 0.7.6.1:

# cat /sys/module/zfs/version
0.7.6-1

Hmm, shouldn't really be, it should match the package version, e.g., mine says "0.7.13-pve1~bpo1"

Just to rule simple things out first, did you reboot after the upgrade, new kernel and it's new modules only get loaded in cleanly on reboot.
What's your
Code:
uname -a

The reboot loaded up the new ZFS module, and now ZFS is back to functioning as normal!

Thanks for the tip. I try to reboot as little as possible, but sometimes I guess it's unavoidable.

About