Cannot Create VM on ZFS pool only local storage shows up for option

onoxsis

Sep 12, 2022
Hi I am very new to proxmox and have the following setup:

2x 60gb ssd enterprise drives in zfs raid 1 where proxmox is installed that shows up as local and local-zfs - here I can create vm's without an issue, the problem of course being there is very little space. So I added 2x 900gb scsi 15k drives in a zfs raid 1. My intention was to install my vm's on this. However after creating the pool and selecting create virtual machine. the storage dropdown only lets me choose "local" it will not let me select my zfs pool.

Output of storage config:

dir: local
path /var/lib/vz
content backup,vztmpl,iso

zfspool: local-zfs
pool rpool/data
content images,rootdir
sparse 1

zfspool: Storage1
pool Storage1
content images,rootdir
mountpoint /Storage1
sparse 0

Attachments

• datacenterview.jpg
    datacenterview.jpg
    119.4 KB · Views: 44
  • storageoptions.jpg
    storageoptions.jpg
    46.4 KB · Views: 46
That is where you select the storage to load your ISO from. Not the storage where you store the virtual disk.

That is where you select the storage to load your ISO from. Not the storage where you store the virtual disk.
Well now i feel very stupid, I found the issue the version of chrome i was using had an extension that was conflicting with the drop down list and not allowing me to see any choice but local. I can now select my rfs pool for storage and it allows me to save.

Thank so much, one other question. How do upload iso's to this rfs pool? it says it only allows Disk image, container but no option to store iso images.

Thank so much, one other question. How do upload iso's to this rfs pool? it says it only allows Disk image, container but no option to store iso images.