Can I install qemu-guest-agent on android vm?

emilka

Feb 28, 2022
I have android vm running on Proxmox:
Code:
Android version: 6.0.1
Kernel version: 4.4.62-android-x86_64
Has anyone tried to install qemu-guest-agent on virtual androids to get on them from the outside? Cannot google any information about it. I found the page with available qemu-guest-agent packages for some linux distros but it seems there is nothing android-compatible amids them. Can someone suggest me anything reasonable?

Last edited:
Does the Android kernel even have support for qemu-guest-agent? It uses a special device to communicate with the hypervisor.
Can you elaborate, please? I'm actually absolute noob in it and any help (at least the direction to dig further) is very appreciated . And.. is it possible altogether to make Proxmox `guest-api-fitures` work with android vms correctly?

I think it is the CONFIG_KVM_GUEST setting in the kernel configuration that enables the special device.
My example VM has a /dev/virtio-ports/org.qemu.guest_agent.0 symlink to /dev/vport2p1 that is used by the qemu-ga process.
What image are you using? Do you have access to the android-vms by ip? I simply need to map vmid and ip-address of vms in local network in order to connect to them via adb knowing vmid of machine I am connecting.

Last edited:
I think it is the CONFIG_KVM_GUEST setting in the kernel configuration that enables the special device.
I have looked into /proc/config.gz - there is no line CONFIG_KVM_GUEST in there. Only CONFIG_HAVE_KVM=y

My example VM has a /dev/virtio-ports/org.qemu.guest_agent.0 symlink to /dev/vport2p1 that is used by the qemu-ga process.
And your example VM with CONFIG_KVM_GUEST isn't android then? I thought you have managed to configure android vm some another way to use guest networking features of Proxmox.

Last edited:

About