Block DHCP to and from the Proxmox host, but allow DHCP between VMs/LXCs

HolgerZ

Jun 27, 2023
I try to replace my routers DHCP Server with the ISC Kea Server in a LXC. As I'm new to this, I want to try it on a few client LXCs first. For this I want to block all DHCP requests that would go to the router and all DHCP requests that could reach the new DHCP Server from the outside of the Proxmox host.

I tried to block all traffic in/out port 67/68 in the firewall of the Datacenter and the Proxmox host but my test LXC always gets an IP from my router. I've read that others have difficulties with dhcp too, but haven't found a solution yet and I don't have a clue where or for what I could search further.

Is it possible at all to block DHCP traffic with the Proxmox firewall, which would be the right location for the rules datacenter or PVE host.
I'm not very experienced with networks or firewalls, so any advice on how to accomplish this would be appreciated and helpful

Haven't played around with the firewalls enough to help you in configuring those, but if you're up for a couple of methods without firewalls there are other ways:
Probably the "easiest" method would be to create a new Linux Bridge (without any config) in proxmox and put all your DHCP-clients and the DHCP-server on this bridge (of course losing internet access while testing).
Alternatively you could put them on a VLAN (so got to use a different subnet as well) and then on your router don't enable DHCP for that vlan.

I've read further and found out that it is really not possible to block DHCP traffic. DHCP uses raw sockets because there is no ip and therefore it bypasses the ip stack, where the firewalls are located.