Best / safest storage solution for OMV LXC with Proxmox residing on 1 SSD?

epionier

Oct 21, 2024
Hello,

I am new to proxmox but quite familiar with linux (not an expert though). So I have some questions for my new Proxmox home-server for using with OMV LXC as a NAS system.

I installed Proxmox on 1 SSD with 1TB (931.5GB) with standard storage system (lvm-thin / ext4).
No external disks attached.

NAME MAJ:MIN RM SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINTS
nvme0n1 259:0 0 931.5G 0 disk
├─nvme0n1p1 259:1 0 1007K 0 part
├─nvme0n1p2 259:2 0 1G 0 part /boot/efi
└─nvme0n1p3 259:3 0 930.5G 0 part
├─pve-swap 252:0 0 8G 0 lvm [SWAP]
├─pve-root 252:1 0 96G 0 lvm /
├─pve-data_tmeta 252:2 0 8.1G 0 lvm
│ └─pve-data-tpool 252:4 0 794.3G 0 lvm
│ ├─pve-data 252:5 0 794.3G 1 lvm
│ ├─pve-vm--107--disk--0 252:6 0 8G 0 lvm
│ ├─pve-vm--105--disk--0 252:7 0 6G 0 lvm
│ └─pve-vm--108--disk--0 252:8 0 20G 0 lvm
└─pve-data_tdata 252:3 0 794.3G 0 lvm
└─pve-data-tpool 252:4 0 794.3G 0 lvm
├─pve-data 252:5 0 794.3G 1 lvm
├─pve-vm--107--disk--0 252:6 0 8G 0 lvm
├─pve-vm--105--disk--0 252:7 0 6G 0 lvm
└─pve-vm--108--disk--0 252:8 0 20G 0 lvm

Questions:

1) pve-root grabbed quite a lot of my ssd (96GB) -> Is there a simple way to reduce this e.g. to 20GB? I do not need that much space for backups, etc.

2) I want to install OMV as a unpriviledged LXC for usage as a provate NAS. When I understand it right I need in my case (LXC) to use the space of my SSD to bind-mount a folder from PVE host to access the "rest of the SSD space". When I am right the "rest of the SSD space" where the (other) LXCs-Disks reside on is block-based, so I can not mount it directly?

What is the safest and best (I/O) way to use the remaining space of my SSD in OMV LXC? I want to be able to make a backup of the file data e.g. with copying the folder on the PVE Host to an external USB-SSD manually from time to time.

Furthermore I want to be able use rclone to sync the "NAS" data to a OneDrive (including Cryptomator protected vaults).