Beginner's questions concerning PVE networking, assigning a public IP, and connecting to a VPN Server container

tabsnotspaces

Jan 26, 2021
Hello all,

I'm new to proxmox and its way of managing VMs/containers and am struggling with setting up my desired networking strategy.

I have 2 VMs and a container. I want the container to act as a VPN server and be exposed to the public internet so that I can access my local network through it.

I followed this guide for setting up the VPN server container and OpenVPN appears to have been setup correctly (its running, generated an opvn file, and the CA keys look OK), but when trying to connect to it from a different machine, the TLS handshake times out with no data reaching the server (which sounds like a firewall issue):
Code:
TLS Error: TLS key negotiation failed to occur within 60 seconds (check your network connectivity)
TLS Error: TLS handshake failed

Firewall on container:
Code:
Firewall  no
DHCP  yes
nap  yes
I'm assuming that once my client is connected to the VPN, that I should just have access to my local network from there? I'm also not sure what goes into reserving a public IP for my VPN server - what I tried (which is likely wrong) is take the IP for my router and use one of the available addresses. I assume I'll have to make my router's IP static from there? Pretty lost here. Also, are there any firewall changes that I can make to protect my VPN server?

Here's my network interface on the proxmox host:
Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface eno1 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
    address 10.0.0.200/24 # local IP
    gateway 10.0.0.1
    bridge_ports eno1
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0

Here's my network interface on the VPN server:
Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
    address 10.0.0.100/24 # local IP
    gateway 10.0.0.1
    bridge-ports enol
    bridge-stp off
    bridge-fd 0

auto eth1
iface eth1 inet static