Beginner Seeking Advice: Optimizing NVMe Performance in Proxmox for VMs

simoncechacek

Jun 21, 2023
wordpresscare.net
Hello Proxmox community,

I hope you all are doing well. I'm writing to seek your advice and guidance on an issue that's been giving me a bit of a challenge. I've just started exploring Proxmox, and while it's been an exciting journey so far, I could really use your collective wisdom on a specific point.

We've got a Gigabyte R272-Z34 server (https://www.gigabyte.com/Enterprise/Rack-Server/R272-Z34-rev-100) with an AMD EPYC 7H12 processor, 512GB RAM, and 24 SAMSUNG MZWLJ1T9HBJR-00007 P2 drives.

For some additional context, we've been using VMware for our other servers and we're considering switching to Proxmox with this new machine. So, I'm relatively new to this platform and still getting my bearings.

The goal is to get the best possible performance from these NVMe drives. We've set up a software RAID within Proxmox and initially tried RAID10, but we're open to other suggestions if they might work better.

I ran a write speed test with this command: dd if=/dev/zero of=/nvme/test1.img bs=5G count=1 oflag=dsync. The result was about 1.7GB/s when run directly in Proxmox SSH, but when the same test was performed inside a Linux VM, the speed dropped to about 833MB/s. I am not sure if this test is the best, but it shows a difference.

Now, I'm not even sure if 1.7GB/s is the best speed we could be getting directly in Proxmox, so I'm hoping to understand how we can optimize this setup further.

I'd really appreciate any advice on how to configure the RAID for better performance or general Proxmox configurations that could be beneficial. Any suggestions for more effective benchmarking tools or methods would also be incredibly helpful.

Thank you so much for your time and help. I'm eager to learn from your expertise.

Kind regards
Simon Cechacek