Beginner issues with storage

bhogo

Nov 27, 2023
Hello,

I have posted this message on Reddit but as I have not received any answer I am trying my luck here.

I am a total beginner in the subject of Proxmox. I have a miniPC with Proxmox installed just for the reason of running a Home Assistant on it. Recently my HA failed to boot after update. I started to dig and found that (probably) the reason is lack of storage.
Checking my disks section revealed that my LVM-thin (60GB) usage is 100%
I have checked and I have 'discard' enabled. I have read I should do manual trimming with fstrim, but it did not change anything. So two questions here:

1. How can I make things working? Either by adding or freeing storage
  2. I have 128GB drive and My HA should be around 20GB Why am I running out of space?

I would really appreciate some help as I am close to throwing my PC through the window and buying a dedicated HA device.

Hello :)

Can you describe your setup a bit more, what home assistant are you running and what type of pc are we talking about ?
And can you send the output of # lsblk and # lvs ?

Reactions: Robstarusa
Hi, Sure thing

So I have an HP T630 with 8GB of RAM and 128GB SSD
I am not sure what do you mean by 'type of home assistant' but I have a VM with HA OS 9.5 which I updated to 10.something

lsblk output

Code:
sda                            8:0    0 119.2G  0 disk
├─sda1                         8:1    0  1007K  0 part
├─sda2                         8:2    0   512M  0 part /boot/efi
└─sda3                         8:3    0 118.7G  0 part
  ├─pve-swap                 253:0    0   6.7G  0 lvm  [SWAP]
  ├─pve-root                 253:1    0    40G  0 lvm  /
  ├─pve-data_tmeta           253:2    0     1G  0 lvm 
  │ └─pve-data-tpool         253:4    0  55.2G  0 lvm 
  │   ├─pve-data             253:5    0  55.2G  1 lvm 
  │   ├─pve-vm--100--disk--0 253:6    0     4M  0 lvm 
  │   └─pve-vm--100--disk--1 253:7    0   120G  0 lvm