Backups and snapshots corrupting filesystems on qcows

croxis

Nov 16, 2020
I am new to proxmox and virtualization, so thanks for your patience with me. I have spend my weekend reinstalling a debian 10 vm countless times. The intended goal is to run home assistant in docker on this vm. Whenever I create a backup or a snapshot the filesystem in the qcow2 gets damaged (specifically the ext4 journal gets deleted, as well as other errors), regardless if the vm is online or offline. Restoring from the backup or snapshot does not work, as it also has the same corruption. Obviously I would like to be able to backup my VM, where should I start looking to solve this problem?

pveversion
pve-manager/6.2-15/48bd51b6 (running kernel: 5.4.73-1-pve)

qm config
Linux pve 5.4.73-1-pve #1 SMP PVE 5.4.73-1 (Mon, 16 Nov 2020 10:52:16 +0100) x86_64 The programs included with the Debian GNU/Linux system are free software; the exact distribution terms for each program are described in the individual files in /usr/share/doc/*/copyright. Debian GNU/Linux comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by applicable law. Last login: Sun Nov 22 09:01:24 2020 from 192.168.0.27 root@pve:~# qm config 105 boot: order=scsi0 cores: 3 ide2: iso-images:iso/debian-10.6.0-amd64-netinst.iso,media=cdrom memory: 4096 name: homeassistant net0: virtio=56:F2:CC:91:3F:AB,bridge=vmbr0,firewall=1 numa: 0 onboot: 1 ostype: l26 scsi0: vms:105/vm-105-disk-0.qcow2,size=64G scsihw: virtio-scsi-pci smbios1: uuid=cd842882-7d0b-466a-a312-b04d55c9cfcd sockets: 1 usb0: host=0658:0200 vmgenid: ef1cbba1-5f81-4fa1-b2b4-4e0f1ebb0f6a

Try to use a virtio device instead of scsi device, install the qemu guest agent within the vm and enable it in the proxmox options.

What kind of pool do you have (hdd or ssd, any kind of software or hardware raid?)?

Try to use a virtio device instead of scsi device, install the qemu guest agent within the vm and enable it in the proxmox options.