API data for Let's Encrypt dns-01 challenge using Azure

yobyot

Jan 19, 2023
Hello,

I can't seem to find any doc or description of the format for supplying "API data" to an ACME dns-01 challenge using the Azure plugin. I'm asking about the expected format of the parameters that need to be passed to the plugin via this dialog:

1.png

I tried using the CLI but it returns an empty object for the Azure plugin, as seen below. IOW, I have no idea how to format a JSON object to put into the API data field.

2.png

Note that I am not asking for what Azure info what needs to be in the object (service principal, etc). I am asking where to find how to format that object for use in the web UI.

I'm a newbie, so excuse the dumb questions.

Normaly acme likes environment variables like:

AZUREDNS_SUBSCRIPTIONID="..."
AZUREDNS_TENANTID="..."
AZUREDNS_APPID="..."
AZUREDNS_CLIENTSECRET="..."

But i never used the acme Azure Plugin in Proxmox so give it a try, maybe line by line or delimited with ; or ,

Thanks for the clue.
Normaly acme likes environment variables like:

AZUREDNS_SUBSCRIPTIONID="..."
AZUREDNS_TENANTID="..."
AZUREDNS_APPID="..."
AZUREDNS_CLIENTSECRET="..."

But i never used the acme Azure Plugin in Proxmox so give it a try, maybe line by line or delimited with ; or ,
Thanks.

Finally (after a couple of days of hacking at this, I finally got it to work. Some notes for future victims:
  • Be sure not to use quotes when specifying Azure DNS properties for acme.sh.
  • You must make sure to give the Azure AD app proper permissions to add a TXT record. DNS TXT Contributor RBAC permission on the DNS Zone resource (or, if you insist at the subscription or resource group level) should do it.
  • Give up on using the web UI. Instead, try this sequence: