Advices for creating a new cluster

digrouz

Mar 7, 2018
Hello,

I'm new to proxmox and I'm amazed by the product!

I'm planning to configure a small proxmox cluster composed of 2 nodes (HP) with internal storage only to provide some proximity services to users. Is there anything to take into account ? any advice?

I already did:
- the basic setup of the cluster (https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Cluster_Manager#_create_the_cluster)
- configure the watchdog (https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/High_Availability_Cluster_4.x#HP_ILO_.28module_.22hpwdt.22_.29)

Stupid question first, what is actually doing the watchdog ? is it a kind of fencing service ?

I understood from other posts in the forum than a two node cluster (as available in plain corosync) is not supported, what would be your advice for that ? I may consider adding a third small node that I have in spare, but if there is a way to avoid it, I would like to try it first.

Kind regards

for a working cluster you will need at least 3 nodes (or in the future an quorom node which of course does not run on the same machines)

Alternatively you can migrate live from one node to the other if you use ZFS in the storage, but currently not in the GUI

The watchdog is a kind of fencing device, HP ILO should be able to do that.

One way to get a third node (you really want to have a third one): Install proxmox on another machine which is stable enough, but it doesn't need to run VM's just use it for quorum (I used that during migration of some older Redhat Clusterand ESX Cluster to Proxmox, until i could empty all old servers)

Thanks for your reply.

I have a hp microserver available that could do the third node.

I'm using ZFS as storage :). Can you point me where to find the command to live migrate ?

Regarding the watchdog, is there any futher configuration ? I remember when I was doing RHClusterSuite configuration, the fence was requiring a user with specific rights on the ilo card, is it the case with the watchdog too ?