[SOLVED] Abysmal Windows VM performance.

Mar 25, 2022
I am getting abysmal performance from within a Windows VM on my Promox cluster. Installing Windows is very slow, taking upwards of an hour to get past even the first stage of the process. After it is done and while idle on the desktop disk, latency can be as much as 3000ms, and it is pretty regularly sitting at 100% usage, and under load, the write speeds sit in the KB/s.

The current setup for the cluster is as follows:
  • Three identical nodes - E5-2673 v3, 64GB RAM, SSD containing Proxmox, 2x 16TB Exos drives (ST16000NM001G-2KK103), 10Gb NIC
  • Ceph has been set up using the Exos drives
I am new to Ceph, so it's possible, and probable, that there is a configuration issue that I am unaware of.

Have you installed the Windows Drivers:
https://fedorapeople.org/groups/vir...ownloads/archive-virtio/virtio-win-0.1.215-1/

Do you use VirtIO SCSI Controller with scsi Disks (you need the drivers for this) ? Because Sata and IDE are super slow.

Also you can test your Ceph Pool on one host with:
Write Test:
rados –p <pool> bench –b <blockSize> <seconds> <write> -t <threads> --no-cleanup
Read Test:
root@node:/# rados –p <pool> bench –b <blockSize> <seconds> <seq> -t <threads>

Last edited:
I created a new VM and made sure the drives were set up as SCSI as you have suggested and it hasn't made a huge amount of difference. I seem to be getting 1Mb/s now which is an improvement.

Write test (rados bench 60 write -b 4M -t 16 -p cephfs_data --no-cleanup)
Code:
Total time run:         60.6326
Total writes made:      2191
Write size:             4194304
Object size:            4194304
Bandwidth (MB/sec):     144.543
Stddev Bandwidth:       34.2958
Max bandwidth (MB/sec): 212
Min bandwidth (MB/sec): 84
Average IOPS:           36
Stddev IOPS:            8.57396
Max IOPS:               53
Min IOPS:               21
Average Latency(s):     0.440449
Stddev Latency(s):      0.404642
Max latency(s):         3.01181