need help installing on a raid 5

WuW

I bought this raid controller http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816132017 because it is cheap and I am a broke college student and cant afford a nice expensive one. It supports raid 5, and it says nothing about it being a software raid card.

When I install Proxmox on the raid 5 it install just fine but when I try to start up Proxmox I get a disk boot error and I know all of the drives are good. Any one have any ideas to help me out here?

Well, it helps to have more information than 'it doesnt work'. However, I'd suggest creating 1 raid volume for the proxmox data and the rest non raided.

So:
/dev/sda1 - /boot
/dev/sda2 - /
/dev/sda3 - swap
/dev/sdb1 - /var (raid volume)

I bought this raid controller http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816132017 because it is cheap and I am a broke college student and cant afford a nice expensive one. It supports raid 5, and it says nothing about it being a software raid card.

When I install Proxmox on the raid 5 it install just fine but when I try to start up Proxmox I get a disk boot error and I know all of the drives are good. Any one have any ideas to help me out here?
Hi,
during the installation of pve you see one disk or all on your raid-controller connected disks (which i assume, because Sil-driven raids are fake raids)?

I think you installed pve on the first disk (not raid-volume) and the boot don't work, because the fake-raid will show the bios an raid, which aren't there... just connect the first disk directly to the MB (if the fake-raidcontroller don't write dirty things to the disks, they should boot).
Such cheap things are not expensive, but not cheap enough because you need to buy again an real controller (and for this money you don't get an real raid controller).

Udo

Price is a good indication.
A real RAID card would have a CPU to calculate parity for the RAID5.