VM freezes irregularly

with these combo, debian vm lives about 2 days now is still good.
  • host kernel Edge 5.19.8-1
  • host os install latest cpu microcode
  • install backports kernel 5.18 to guest debian vm

Reactions: rRobbie
Thanks Fabian, much appreciated.

Quick question: best practice coming from edge kernel? Remove it and then install the official 5.19?
Thanks
The packages just adds to the boot menu so you can switch between them, test it, then remove the package once all is well.

I was more adventurous so I just went ahead to remove the pve-kernel-5.19-edge packages, installed the new one from the main repo and rebooted. It downgraded mine from 5.19-8 to 5.19-7 but it's running fine.

I have no experience whatsoever with the pve-edge-kernels (they are third party and neither developed nor supported by us), but if they are working like regular kernel packages on Debian based distros, they should peacefully co-exist with the PVE ones, and the one with the highest version will be booted by default, and the usual ways to override that default selection should apply.

this time, freezed within 24 hours, while the guest freezed, the traffic is about 900KB/s in and out. cpu is lower than 10%.

migrate dockers to lxc container again.

this time, freezed within 24 hours, while the guest freezed, the traffic is about 900KB/s in and out. cpu is lower than 10%.

migrate dockers to lxc container again.
What kernel are you running on the proxmox host?

A brief report of my NUC11ATKC4 running:

View attachment 41030

Now 3 days running the 7 VMs under stress-ng mild load, one issue with an Ubuntu VM which eventually filled up its memory and crashed (memory leak of the stress test? I am not sure), however the symptoms were totally different from the old freezes I had before installing the edge kernel.

Now I am testing one VM at time, starting with Fedora, under heavier load (for my little NUC).