Using Proxmox as NAS for different VMs + Windows Clients

KingSlaier

Feb 11, 2022
Hello Everyone,

I am new to Proxmox coming from FreeNas. I used FreeNAS as a NAS and shared it with the plugins I had running in FreeNAS, and also was able to access the NAS from my Windows PC to manage the store when sitting at my desktop. This is running on a homebuilt server with 4 internal HDD.

I am trying to recreate this using Proxmox, but without using FreeNAS. I have been searching online to find a way to create a NAS with the host Proxmox OS and share that with the VMs that I will be running and also access the NAS from my windows PC when at my desktop.

Would the best way to accomplish this be to have a VM running as a NAS, and not the host Proxmox? I am just looking for best practices or what is recommended by the community before digging myself into a hole and starting all over.

I am looking to use a VM running Ubuntu to run qbittottent and would like to store the data I download onto the NAS

I am looking to use another Ubuntu VM to run my Plex server

I am looking to set up a filesystem something like below and be able to map these to my Windows PC and Ubuntu VMs

\\Proxmox NAS IP\Storeage\Files
\\Proxmox NAS IP\Storeage\Media
\\Proxmox NAS IP\Storeage\Backups

I did already start doing some research online and found out how to create a zfs storage in Proxmox and added it as a Directory in Proxmox. So it seems like the only next step would be to mount or share this directory with my VMs and Windows PC. So I guess my real question here is how to share this folder in a way that it can be accessed by all VMs and my Windows PC?

Thanks for any advice in advance!!!

Attachments

• exp.png
    exp.png
    19.6 KB · Views: 101
Last edited: