Installation with m.2 - OK ?

kappclark

Feb 13, 2019
Vermont, USA
www.clark-hart.us
Wondering if it is advisable to build a new proxmox using a 256GB nvme m.2 as boot drive ?

Still looking for a good guide to setting up storage properly in zfs. Does the m.2 get setup as zfs ?

My idea was boot from m.2, and 4 sata devices connected (4 x 1 TB) raid 10 ... (I think ZFS uses a different term)

Can you tell I am still a beginner with zfs ??

THX,

If the m.2 is being used just for the boot disk then I see no issues at all, your have a single point of failure, just make sure you keep a backup of your VM config files encase the m.2 ever dies.

Obviously if this is a mission critical server then you would be better off placing the boot drive onto the 4 x 1TB Raid 10 so a single disk is less likely to take the system down.

Many people will use small boot able devices for the PVE install and then host all the VM data on normal disks to make use of all the drive bays within their server for VM data.

If anything a m.2 NVME will be much faster / better life span than booting off a USB drive for example.

Many people will use small boot able devices for the PVE install and then host all the VM data on normal disks to make use of all the drive bays within their server for VM data.

If anything a m.2 NVME will be much faster / better life span than booting off a USB drive for example.

Thank you - and that is just what I was thinkung - I only have 4 on-board sata ports on the MB, so wanted to avoid getting a controller board..the MSI Motherboard does support boot from m.2, and it is my understanding that the recent Linux kernels support nvme boot.

I was thinking that I might put the ISO images also on the NVME (maybe 25 - 30 GB MAX) in a sep partition - bad idea ? I know I won't need all the 250GB, and wouldn't need iso's on a daily basis ... (these wld be backed up of course) ..

Last edited: