Hetzner with PVE 6.05, bridged VMs, not available

Aug 19, 2019
Hi all,
I am a newbie to proxmox, so please apologize if my questions are a bit "basic"

I have a running proxmox 6.05 on a Hetzner EX42 server with debian 10, bridged setup and two bridged VMs (ubuntu 18 lts). Setup was done following the documentation at the proxmox wiki for Debian Buster plus other sources from hetzner dokuwiki plus some older public tutorials which I adapted for ubuntu 18 and debian 10 (especially as ubuntu 18 now uses netplan).

My problem: the bridged VMs do not connect to the outside world and vice versa. But both VMs can reach each other and the proxmox server, so I assume that the vmbr0 setup is principally ok. From my understanding of the routing, bridged VMs are routing directly to the Hetzner gareway, which leads to this guest configuration:

network:
version: 2
renderer: networkd
ethernets:
ens18:
dhcp4: no
addresses: [REDACTED/26]
gateway4: [REDACTED]
nameservers:
addresses: [REDACTED,REDACTED]
routes:
- to: 0.0.0.0/0
via: [REDACTED]
on-link: true

On the proxmox server I use the "out of the box" configuration (firewall is off on datacenter level). I need some hints where to search from now ...

Thanks, Thommie

I have separate MACs for both VMs and added these MACs in the MAC Address field in "Edit: Network device" on the VM level. Just re-checked if I have the correct MACs and all seems to be fine ... Are there any additional checks I can make on the cli level?

Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface lo inet6 loopback

auto enp0s31f6
iface enp0s31f6 inet static
        address  [REDACTED]
        netmask  255.255.255.192
        gateway  [REDACTED]
        up route add -net [REDACTED] netmask 255.255.255.192 gw [REDACTED] dev enp0s31f6
        # route [REDACTED]/26 via [REDACTED]

iface enp0s31f6 inet6 static
        address  [REDACTED]
        netmask  64
        gateway  fe80::1

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
  address [REDACTED]
  netmask 255.255.255.192