Upload Speed issue

TheJM

May 3, 2019
Hey all! Thank you for this wonderful resource for newbies like me to reference. I have searched and searched and cannot find the solution to my issue.

I am running Proxmox 5.4.3 at the moment and am having an issue with the upload and download speed of my VMs. I will try to provide as much information as possible here. I am very new to the vm/server world but am learning quickly so please let me know if you need any more info.

Some Facts:
  • My home internet speed is symmetrical gig.
  • Speed tests from other wired computers on the network usually yeild 1ms ping, ~900Mbps up and down.
  • after installing speedtest-cli on proxmox and running a test, i get 808-down 196-up.
  • I have 3 VMs, all are 18.04 server.
  • I installed speedtest-cli on all the VMs too.
  • Running a test on each VM yeilds the ~320-down 4.13-up (all vms are about the same results)

To try and troubleshoot i installed a vm with 16.04 server and got ~320-down ~83-up. This is still far from what my Proxmox host is getting and even farther from my internet speed but it is an improvement over 18.04.

I have also changed the Network Device 'Model' in the VM configuration in proxmox to all 4 options and they each yeilded the same testing results shown above. I also changed the CPU type to host and that had no effect.

I have a few questions as you can imagine:
1. Most importantly why are my VM upload speeds so limited? It seems there is an issue with how 18.04 interacts with Proxmox?
2. Why is my Proxmox host speedtest not similar to other computers on the network and similar to my internet speed?

For reference my home network is simple. Everything is connected to a 24 port switch and then to the modem. No VLANs or other complexities. My Proxmox server has a gigabit intel NIC and is wired to the switch.

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks
JM

Last edited:
Hi,

I guess it is a NIC driver problem. What type of NIC do you use?

Hi,