Zerotier network bypassing firewall. Add network adapter in VM to proxmox config?

BrianVB

Dec 23, 2023
Hello - this is my first time trying to use proxmox. I have a web development background, but extremely limited networking / IT knowledge. So this is all very new to me; I'm just saying that in case it helps formulate responses.

In my Proxmox setup, I have two VMs. One is a ubuntu server 22.04.3 for the sole purpose of self-hosting a zerotier controller running in. The other is another ubuntu server instance hosting web-based services. My hopes are to create a zerotier private network to allow members to access these services. It's volunteer work for a local spiritual / religious organization, so security isn't of utmost importance, but I want to use this as a good learning experience.

I followed instructions I could find to setting up the firewall in proxmox and applying it to each of the VMs. I am trying to make sure that the only access can be through either the local network, or the zerotier network, and that the only ports that can be accessed are the ones for the services on that VM. It took a bit of reading, but I was able to get everything to work with one gaping exception - accessing the devices using their IP address on the zerotier network completely bypasses the firewall. Once I turned the firewall on (before adding rules), it properly blocked me from using SSH or accessing the services on their local IPs (for example, 192.168.1.44:3777) but I could still SSH and access them if I used the zerotier IP (10.12.35.123:3777).

After doing quite a bit of reading, I found that the firewall needs to be enabled on the Network Device for the VM in order for it to work properly (in addition to the datacenter, node and VM). Zerotier creates its own network device, inside the VM. My best guess here is that I somehow need to make sure that the firewall is being applied to this network device as well.