Why hw raid without write back is so much slower than simple sata?

mmenaz

Renowned Member
Jun 25, 2009
Northern east Italy
This questions bugs me since long time. I know pveperf is not a "full flagghed" benchmark tool, but we know that can give useful and "real" indication of the storage speed.
So this is the question: if I setup a single sata storage, I get FSYNCS/SECOND around 800.
If then I setup a 4xsata RAID10 with hardware controller but no write through, I get something like 160 (that is 5 time slower)!
Don't think that "normal sata" disk has writhe back cache enabled (wouldn't be too risky?), so I would expect that raid performances be at least in pair with single sata, but should be much better in any case (512MB of cache for reads, 4 simultaneus disk to read from).
Second question: I'm testing adaptec 5805z with ZWW and works good, but really so far (I'm new to RAID and BBU) all RAID controller had the bbu problem that is "out of work" in one or two years? Or are LSI Raid (i.e. Logic LSI MegaSAS 9260) that have such a short BBU life? Seem so bad and expensive have to monitor bbu state (and often with proprietary software! I hate it) and have to replace it so often (stop the server, replace the bbu, see checkdisk applied because have been a long time since last check... in short hours of server downtime).
Thanks a lot

Don't think that "normal sata" disk has writhe back cache enabled (wouldn't be too risky?),

Normal SATA disk has write cache enabled by default (and yes, that is dangerous).

Most RAID controller disables the cache on the disk (or you need to do that).

Second question: I'm testing adaptec 5805z with ZWW and works good, but really so far (I'm new to RAID and BBU) all RAID controller had the bbu problem that is "out of work" in one or two years?

What bbu problem do you talk about exactly (AFAIK that controller does not have a battery)?

What bbu problem do you talk about exactly (AFAIK that controller does not have a battery)?