[SOLVED] Web GUI access

Chirstian Carstens

Nov 22, 2018
Hi,
Im fairly new to proxmox and have done a couple of test installations. I seem to have problems with the access to the web gui when trying to set static ip-addresses.
At the moment I have a test bench where I've installed debian stretch and on top of that proxmox. Web GUI access was accessible from the begining but when I created a bridge network for my VM:s web gui was only accessible from localhost.
I've played around much with the network settings and I have gotten it to work with the bridge network, so that VM:s have internet access. The problem is web gui. It seems to work randomly. As for last try, I had it up and running and web gui working from other computers. So I thought I had it all under control, but wanted to check that a restart of the host will be able to bring everything up they way it should, but it did not. All settings are still the same as they were before restart from what I can see, but again only localhost access is possible.
This happend once before on this system but back then I thought I had made some changes and was tryin' to figure out what I could have done. I have had the same problem with other test installs of proxmox.

Can anyone point me in which direction I should go with this in order to try to get GUI working from other computers even after restarts. What might be causing the GUI to not accept remote connections?

Last edited:
please post your network configuration

From /etc/network/interfaces

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto enp4s0
iface enp4s0 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
address 192.168.0.5
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.0.1
bridge-ports enp4s0
bridge-stp off
bridge-fd 0
bridge-vlan-aware yes
bridge-vids 2-4094

So one physical NIC and one bridge, should be pretty simple one would think :)