VMs randomly closing.

Script20

Jun 7, 2023
Hey guys, so I'm new to proxmox so if you require anything you'll need to let me know how to get the info you require.

So I have proxmox server 7.4-3, and I have a ubuntu Desktop VM with a Minecraft server running, and a TrueNAS Core Server and a Portainer Ubuntu Server.

Randomly through out the day all the vms will close, I do not tell it to do it and it's obviously very annoying as people tell me the MC server is down and I have to load it up every more then 3 times a day.

In the bottom tasks part it doesn't say anything about them turning off so I'm not sure.

What does your host RAM usage say? If the VMs are really stopped, it might relate to oomkiller events.
Check journalctl and see if you can find events around the time where the VM stopped.

What does your host RAM usage say? If the VMs are really stopped, it might relate to oomkiller events.
Check journalctl and see if you can find events around the time where the VM stopped.
If cat /var/log/syslog | grep oom is returning anything you should assign less RAM to your guests or buy more RAM. Or limit the ARC in case ZFS is used.

Last edited:
Hello, so nothing shows when I'm grepping oom, I have 64GB, and it's strange so when I look on the summary part of the VM it will be like 96 ish % but when I go in the vm and free -h it shows so much less ram usage then the summary.

Hello, so nothing shows when I'm grepping oom, I have 64GB, and it's strange so when I look on the summary part of the VM it will be like 96 ish % but when I go in the vm and free -h it shows so much less ram usage then the summary.
That's probably filesystem cache. See the many, many threads about this on this forum.
Randomly through out the day all the vms will close, I do not tell it to do it and it's obviously very annoying as people tell me the MC server is down and I have to load it up every more then 3 times a day.