VM forced into emergency mode after increasing disk size

bennyz327

Aug 24, 2023
First of all, I apologize for not following the official documents to increase size.
I very need your help.

Env:
My Proxmox system is set up on a single physical machine running 4 LXCs and a virtual machine (endeavouros OS with KDE), Proxmox is installed on a separate 256GB SSD and everything else is on a 12TB mechanical hard disk.
I'm new to both proxmox and linux (Linux 6month、Proxmox 1month)

Why:
Originally I had given the endeavouros VM 1000G of space to use, and today I wanted to expand the capacity of this VM in order to back up my main computer's files first.

How
1. I didn't close the VM at first, and in the WEB GUI of Proxmox, I selected the hard disk in the Hardware tab of the VM and chose "Resize",then adjusted it to 5TB.
Then restarted the VM and found the available partitions increased, I thought I should also extend the file system to the unused partitions in the VM, so far so good.

2. So I went inside the VM, but I didn't use the command, I installed "KDE's partition manager tool" and used manager's GUI, entered the size I wanted to expand and chose execute, then it show the execution is failed, but I still tried to use different number to scale it up to test if the change was successful.

3. I tried several times with different sizes and succeeded to see the increase in capacity in the file manager (999GB>1.9TB), then I continued to try to see if it could be scaled up to 5TB, but it didn't work, I ran the command by partition manager tool to scale up the partition at least 5 times, but it failed, and that was the beginning of the disaster...

4. After Step3, I restarted the VM and it failed to start.
here is the error msg shot
proxmox_虛擬機自救 2023-08-24 224046.png
When I follow the prompts to execute the following command
It returns the following result