VLAN on bridge with multiple NICs

mvandenabeele

Jan 13, 2021
Hi

I'm relatively new to networking with VLANs, so I hope this isn't a dumb question.. I have a proxmox host with 4 nics. 1 goes to the modem, 3 others are connected to a vlan-aware Linux Bridge. A pfSense VM is connecting WAN and LAN. 1 of those internal NICs is connected to a trunk port of my Zyxel managed switch. Another internal NIC goes to a wifi accespoint. Other ports on the switch are all acces ports for VLAN1 and devices attached to it have functional internet connections. Now, I wanted to add a separate wifi network for untrusted devices. As a first step, I added it with VLAN enabled and set to VLAN1. I had expected this to work the same as the untagged wifi networks because (I assume) the primare VLAN id for the linux bridge is 1, but it isn't. I do not get an IP if I try to connect to this SSID. What am I doing wrong here, or what have I failed to understand about VLANs?

Kind regards,
Merijn

Hi Merijn

I'm not sure, if I understand your setup in the right way. As far as I understand your description, your setup would look like this, ...

1610997329793.png

... isn't it?

With this setup, if you want to add a new VLAN for untrusted devices, you'll have to use a VLAN capable access point. Then you'll have to configure a second VLAN with a different VLAN ID (VLAN1 is already used for LAN) and then set the AP port to trunk . On the Proxmox side, there are two ways to implement VLANs:

1. On the firewall, creating to VLAN interfaces (i. e. eth2.<vlan-idx> and eth2.<vlan-idy>)
2. On the VM settings, adding a new network interface and setting the VLAN ID on it.

In this setup, I would recommend to use different VLAN ID than ID 1 on the WLAN network interfaces in order to avoid confusion ... ;)