viewing the vm IP address in the summary of that vm

wbravin

Sep 7, 2022
Hello all

I'm new to proxmox. I have been playing with it for a about a year on and off on old hardware. Now that i have all my server hardware has been defined and implemented. I am ready to go live with my new home environment. I'm running proxmox 8.

I created vm's for opnsense. home assistant and truenas. Maybe i will add a window 10 or 11 vm at a future date

Of the 3 vm's only home assistant summary provides me with an iP address of the Home assistant vm.

For truenas and opnsense i do not see the vm's ip address and in both cases under option i see that the qemu is enabled and type virtio.

As suggested I tried to perform apt-get install qemu-guest-agent in the pve shell and it did install however i still get the same scenarios.

is there a solution to my problem?

Thank you in advance for your help

As suggested I tried to perform apt-get install qemu-guest-agent in the pve shell and it did install however i still get the same scenarios.
You dont install Qemu Agent in PVE shell, that would be installing it as package in Proxmox itself. The agent needs to run inside the VM. The HA seems to contain it by default, others do not. You need to research what specific OS types the other two VMs are, whether there is an agent package available for these OS's, whether you are allowed to install such extra packages, and if all stars align - install the package inside those VMs.
You then need to enable Agent option in VM configuration panel of the PVE.
Good luck

Blockbridge : Ultra low latency all-NVME shared storage for Proxmox - https://www.blockbridge.com/proxmox

Reactions: leesteken
You dont

Warning

You get updates for Proxmox VE
The enterprise repository is enabled, but there is no active subscription!
The no-subscription repository is not recommended for production use!
The Ceph enterprise repository is enabled, but there is no active subscription!