v8 upgrade - no web access

aussiemartin

Apr 8, 2023
Bangkok
Well, I'm a newbie with this.
Did the v8 upgrade.
I can log into the installation when I connect a keyboard and mouse BUT I can't access the server via the web interface.

Can anyone suggest what I've buggered up and a fix/s please. I'm at a loss

prox-8.jpg

what does 'apt update' and 'pveversion -v' say?

what does 'apt update' and 'pveversion -v' say?
prox-8-1.jpg

I would add that during the end of the text based gui install that I had 2 choices regarding things to keep. i went with the default on the first one and the second had something to do with keeping the default or the maintainers configuration. Since it was a new version of proxmox, i went with the maintainers file and not mine. Perhaps I chose incorrectly that could be causing this issue

Last edited:
kernel 6.0.19-edge ????
did you have installed external package on pve7 ? (maybe https://github.com/fabianishere/pve-edge-kernel/releases ?)

sound like the upgrade have uninstalled proxmox packages.

maybe "apt install proxmox-ve" could fix it
from memory, i did use some scripts when i first installed proxmox7, following a youtube video that were to tweak the overall system.
but the 'apt install proxmox-ve' didn't work, sadly.

prox-8-2.jpg

How can things go so wrong? :)

prox-8-3.jpg

packages having unmet dependencies, pve-apt-hook not found, upgrade hasn't installed or is missing stuff.
Can anyone help with this. A bit worried now.
Thanks for suggestions

it seems it tries to keep ceph-common on an older version for some reason?

what is the output of
Code:
apt-cache policy ceph-common
?

try the following (and post the outputs as text (if at all possible)):
* show us your apt sources: `grep -r '' /etc/apt/sources.list*`
* add a ceph repository from Proxmox: https://pve.proxmox.com/pve-docs/chapter-sysadmin.html#_ceph_quincy_no_subscription_repository
* run `apt update`