Update broke passthrough

sixconfirmedthrills

Oct 5, 2021
Hi,

Hardware in question: HP ProLiant DL380p G8, Intel I340-T4 Quad port NIC

It's been running perfectly fine for months, until I updated today. I carelessly updated the OS after I added the no-subscription repo (had no idea I missed that at setup, long time ago, so I sort of updated as a reaction), and now PCIe passthrough for the aforementioned NIC is somehow broken. I've tried recreating the steps I took via guides to get passthrough working, to make sure all configs were correct, but I can't seem to get it right - it all seems fine.

I'm not sure what version I was on before I updated, but I updated to 6.4. My assumption is that it has something to do with the kernel version, but I'm a novice and I'm not sure how to proceed. The error I'm getting when I try to run the guest is:

Code:
kvm: -device vfio-pci,host=0000:04:00.0,id=hostpci0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x10: failed to setup container for group 34: Failed to set iommu for container: Operation not permitted
start failed: QEMU exited with code 1

Does anyone know what may have caused this to break, giving me an idea of what to look for?

Thank you!

Edit: Autocorrect weirdness

UPDATE:
I realized the whole not-using-grub-anymore-shenanigans and updated the systemd-boot file, adding intel_iommu=on. I've also tried using the relaxed rmrr kernel, as I think this may have been part of my original setup. But still, no dice.

Last edited:
I've the same issue, and the first to check is if IOMMU is on or not on your motherboard, normally for intel VT-D option.

The way is to check first on you shell if it's ok or not, the command is: dmesg | grep -e DMAR -e IOMMU

If there is no response so try to check them first.

I've the same issue, and the first to check is if IOMMU is on or not on your motherboard, normally for intel VT-D option.

The way is to check first on you shell if it's ok or not, the command is: dmesg | grep -e DMAR -e IOMMU