Unable to create VM

itmanbbq

Jun 18, 2018
Greetings,

Forgive my simple question. I have two proxmox hosts. On pve1 I am unable to create a VM as I am not able to select any storage from the drop down. I do not have this issue on my pve2. I have 8 VM's running on pve1 and was able to create those VM's. I noticed that on my pve2 host the default image type under hard disk is raw. On the pve1 host the default image type is qemu.

I probably did something to cause this issue but I am stuck. I am also not able to move disks as well. The storage does not show up in the drop down.

I am new to proxmox . . . any suggestions would be helpful. I am using LVM storage.

Hi,

I guess you have not set the correct content type on the storage.
You can check this here.

Datacenter->Storage double click to "local-lvm"
Prove that "Disk image" is selected as content.

Thank you for your response. . . . I verified that I have the correct option(s) set fo the storage. My issue I believe is how I created my storage. I deleted ALL my storage and started over. I was able to create VM's and select storage and move disks. When I came back to work on it today I was in the same scenario. Unable to create a vm and assign storage. Unable to move a disk.

My assumption is that I have an issue with my storage and possibly it's not mounted.

Many thanks for any additional assistance.

Attachments

• pve1-storage.png
    pve1-storage.png
    85.7 KB · Views: 27
  • pve1-disks.png
    pve1-disks.png
    109.3 KB · Views: 25
  • pve1-movedisk-nothinginlist.png
    pve1-movedisk-nothinginlist.png
    81.1 KB · Views: 25
  • pve1-createvm-nostorageinlist.png
    pve1-createvm-nostorageinlist.png
    153.6 KB · Views: 24