[SOLVED] Unable to connect to internet

divetrainer

Aug 10, 2024
Hey Y'all,

I am very new to proxmox and its set up kind of threw me for a loop to where I might have messed up. I am currently unable to access the internet from the proxmox but can connect to the intranet. i am able to access the gui as well as ssh into the machine but cannot ping out from the box. any help would be greatly appreciated!

Bash:
root@divelab:~# cat /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.1.106 divelab.local divelab

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts

::1     ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts

Bash:
root@divelab:~# cat /etc/network/interfaces
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface enp37s0 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
        address 192.168.1.106/24
        gateway 192.168.0.1
        bridge-ports enp37s0
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

Bash:
root@divelab:~# ip -c a
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host noprefixroute
2: enp37s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast master vmbr0 state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 30:9c:23:03:9f:7b brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
9: vmbr0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 30:9c:23:03:9f:7b brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.106/24 scope global vmbr0
    inet6 fe80::329c:23ff:fe03:9f7b/64 scope link

Here is the ip a code as well

Looks like you have your router set to 192.168.0.1, while your IP is in the 192.168.1.X(/24) range, meaning it can't access the router.