Unable to browse to Proxmox VE running on Mini PC

PresidentWillem

Jul 21, 2023
I am a complete newbie to Proxmox, but I want to learn about virtualization so I bought a mini PC and installed proxmox ve from an usb device. The installation goes fine and there are no issues. Obviously I'm doing something wrong in setting up the network configuration. I've been browsing this forum to try and get it to work but I can't seem to be able to connect to the web portal.

Some considerations:
  1. I have a router from my ISP which has a DHCP server on which I freed the 192.168.2.1 - 192.168.2.9 for static IP's
  2. The mini pc is connected via LAN
  3. I have configured proxmox to run on 192.168.2.4, although I dont see it in connected devices on my router.
  4. I have tried to configure it to allow for dhcp to see if I could get it to connect with the router and make an IP reservation. No dice.
  5. pinging the ipv4 results in: Destination host unreachable
  6. I've reinstalled multiple times with different network configuration to try and match the values in my router web portal. No dice.
This is my current interfaces contents:

Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface enp1s0 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
    address 192.168.2.4/24
    gateway 192.168.2.254
    bridge-ports enp1s0
    bridge-stp off
    bridge-fd 0

iface wlp2s0 inet manual

This is my hosts content (I left out the ip6 config lines):
Code:
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.2.4 pve.example.local pve

I am not sure what I can do to get my desktop PC to connect to the browser portal. What am I missing here?

Last edited:
NO-CARRIER usually means that the cable is not plugged-in. Search the forum if you insist on using WiFi, which is not support by Proxmox but can work (in a limited way).

NO-CARRIER usually means that the cable is not plugged-in. Search the forum if you insist on using WiFi, which is not support by Proxmox but can work (in a limited way).