Unable to access to PVE Web gui via domain or public IP, but able to access them via local IP

KingColton

Aug 21, 2024
So for a backstory; I wasn't happy with tailscale because I put them on proxmox host and it made all websites inaccessible. So I decided to uninstall tailscale and purged anything that is leftover in network interfaces. Now that I am able to connect to the web gui as well as another websites running in their own LXCs via Caddy in its own LXC. I already set up my domain and successfully received certification and installed prior to tailscale installation which were working just fine. Do note that I'm hosting Proxmox in my home server using NAT and DHCP setup. I'm fairly new with proxmox but I think I'm able to grasp the concept of proxmox; just need to get through the network situation to be done with it.

To summary; after I uninstalled tailscale on Proxmox host + purge anything that is leftover added by tailscale, I can't access to the web gui with my own domain but I can SSH into that just fine and using local ip:8006 works fine as well.

I made sure;
- My domains are pointing to my public IP correctly, including the one that is used to access web gui.
- 8006 port is open in my router and firewall
- A subdomain I use to access web gui is on ACME and has SSL certification.
- resolv.conf is OK

I've been looking through this forum and reddit but to no avail. Maybe I might've missed something that led to the web gui being totally inaccessible with domain and public IP? thanks

Just to confirm, you say you can access the server through SSH from outside?
Cause if not, my first thought was/would have been: Is the default gateway set correctly + do you have any strange routes in the ip r command (90% of the time there should only be 2 lines in there)
Also, are you testing this from "really" outside (aka on mobile internet or from a different building's internet), or just using the outside name/ip while on lan/wifi at home?