The end of multi-site clustering?

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by tnelson, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. tnelson

    tnelson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greetings- With the current Proxmox 1.x series, I regularly cluster systems that are in disparate locations, certainly not on the same network. However, after looking at the new clustering requirements in 2.0 [1] , it appears this will no longer be possible. Am I understanding this correctly?

    --Tim

    [1] http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Proxmox_VE_2.0_Cluster#Requirements
     
  2. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,461
    Likes Received:
    311
    Yes, correct.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. yakakliker

    yakakliker Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is it definitive?
     
  4. kobuki

    kobuki Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    21
    IIRC it isn't really supported in 1.x either, but it happens to work since it doesn't need broadcasts, apparently. Although the need for broadcasting traffic can easily satisfied by using a broadcast-capable VPN tunnel. OpenVPN in bridge mode or L2TP/IPsec is capable with proper configuration, for example.
     
  5. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,461
    Likes Received:
    311
    Correct, this was not supported in 1.x either.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice