Tape Library: No usable media found

proxwolfe

Jun 20, 2020
Hi,

I am completely new to tape backup. But I found myself a very reasonably priced tape library to experiment with.

Created an encryption key, physically imported a new empty tape, loaded it into the drive, formatted it and labeled it. Status of the tape is "writable".

Created a backup job using the drive in the library.

But when I try to execute the job, I get an error telling me: "alloc writable media in pool 'lto5pool1' failed: no usable media found".

Any ideas what I might be missing? (Please consider that I really have no clue!)

Inventory shows the tape as "offline" - although it is sitting in the drive - might that have to do with it?

Thanks

Last edited:
what does

Code:
proxmox-tape status --drive DRIVENAME
proxmox-tape changer status CHANGERNAME
show?

edit: also
Code:
proxmox-tape media list

Last edited:
Code:
proxmox-tape status --drive lto5
┌────────────────┬──────────────────────────┐
│ Name │ Value │
╞════════════════╪══════════════════════════╡
│ blocksize │ 0 │
├────────────────┼──────────────────────────┤
│ density │ LTO5 │
│ compression │ 1 │
│ buffer-mode │ 1 │
│ alert-flags │ (empty) │
│ file-number │ 2 │
│ block-number │ 4 │
│ manufactured │ Fri Feb 7 01:00:00 2020 │
│ bytes-written │ 37.00 MiB │
│ bytes-read │ 0 B │
│ medium-passes │ 0 │
│ medium-wearout │ 0.00% │
│ volume-mounts │ 1 │
└────────────────┴──────────────────────────┘

Code:
proxmox-tape changer status MSL2024
┌───────────────┬──────────┬────────────┬─────────────┐
│ entry-kind │ entry-id │ label-text │ loaded-slot │
╞═══════════════╪══════════╪════════════╪═════════════╡
│ drive │ 0 │ --FULL-- │ 2 │
├───────────────┼──────────┼────────────┼─────────────┤
│ import-export │ 1 │ │ │
│ import-export │ 24 │ --FULL-- │ │
│ slot │ 2 │ │ │
│ slot │ 3 │ │ │
│ slot │ 4 │ │ │
│ slot │ 5 │ │ │
│ slot │ 6 │ │ │
│ slot │ 7 │ │ │
│ slot │ 8 │ │ │
│ slot │ 9 │ │ │
│ slot │ 10 │ │ │
│ slot │ 11 │ │ │
│ slot │ 12 │ │ │