Strange... A new VM with a reused VMID shows backups...

LooneyTunes

Active Member
Jun 1, 2019
203
13
38
Hi,

I have had a VM with ID 103 which I purged a while back. Now I installed a new one, and under backups I find an old backup from the old machine. Is this to be expected? I was thinking backups was purged to, but not it seems?
 
The backup view of the VM simply shows all backups of VMs with the same number. Backups are not automatically deleted when you delete a VM, which is good when you accidentally deleted a VM.
 
The backup view of the VM simply shows all backups of VMs with the same number. Backups are not automatically deleted when you delete a VM, which is good when you accidentally deleted a VM.
Agreed. If it is per design, as you say, it is a wise measure. Thanks for confirming it being as it should :)
 

About

The Proxmox community has been around for many years and offers help and support for Proxmox VE, Proxmox Backup Server, and Proxmox Mail Gateway.
We think our community is one of the best thanks to people like you!

Get your subscription!

The Proxmox team works very hard to make sure you are running the best software and getting stable updates and security enhancements, as well as quick enterprise support. Tens of thousands of happy customers have a Proxmox subscription. Get yours easily in our online shop.

Buy now!