Storage design/plan thoughts?

Pulssarman

Apr 7, 2017
Ok, I'm a newbie to Proxmox only just discovering it. I've decided to virtualize my home environment and am a bit confused on how to approach my storage plan;

Hardware: Dell r710 with internal SSD (250gb) and SATA raid5 array on Perc H700 (8TB).

So far I've installed Proxmox on the internal SSD, then created the raid5 array. I couldn't figure out how to add the array to Proxmox at first. Then after some nosing around the interwebs, figured out it has to be available on Proxmox OS first. So I fdisk'd the array drive to Linux (8e), and then pvcreate /dev/sdb1 and created a volume group called Array-vg. Back in Proxmox I added "local storage" "existing volume group" and it shows up fine.

I created my first couple of test hosts on the SSD and that works fine. Now my plan is to have the array be a big media storage area for several KVM's on the server - what is the best way to do this? I was under the impression that Proxmox would be the NFS server and then NFS mount them to the KVMs, but I don't think that is correct. So now do I;

A. Install linux server on the SSD and then "add disk" for the whole of the array and then share it out via NFS, Samba etc. to the other KVMs?

B. Install another Linux NAS type solution distro like FreeNAS or OpenMediaVault etc.?

C. something else?

I'd like the ability to reboot any client KVM without knocking down the storage array for other KVMs, but just not sure how to proceed. One of the KVMs will be Plex and it will need nice fast access to the array. Any thoughts are VERY welcome!

Thanks!

I have kind of a biased opinion when it comes to this because I'm a FreeNAS junkie. If you run FreeNAS on a separate box with the appropriate specs it'll do great things for your ProxMox cluster. ZFS (although usable by ProxMox) works incredibly well and intelligently in FreeNAS and it comes with several bonuses:
  • Assign NFS storage to the ProxMox cluster accessible by all nodes