[SOLVED_somehow :)] Proxmox / pfSense / 1 NIC : how to let physical computers join pfsense LAN network ?

cryonie

May 8, 2020
Hello all,

So let's say i'm new to proxmox, linux, pfsense and ... new to everything linked to network and virtualization.
Yeah ... a great start isn't it ? :)

I'm trying to make a server out of my old computer.
Installed proxmox. Working good :)
Created a second vmbr (vmbr1), installed pfSense, put all my VM on vmbr1 (pfSense LAN) and everything is working fine.

My network is :
1588953062319.png

Now lets say i want to let my physical computer (actuelly on 192.168.0.x) be "behind" the pfSense (so in 192.168.42.x).
It's been 2 weeks of searching on the internet and testing and ... i wasn't able to make it work.

What I think i've learned :
- vmbr1 is not "listening" to the network because it's not linked to eth0.
I tried many things ... last thing was to "iptables -A FORWARD -i vmbr0 -o vmbr1 -j ACCEPT" to try to let vmbr1 be able to "listen" to requests from my computer but when i "tcpdump -n -i vmbr1" it seems nothing reaches this interface.

What I tried also is to create (in pfSense this time) a virtual IP (192.168.42.x) on the WAN (vmbr0 linked to eth0) interface so it could "listen" to the requests and make them follow the good route ... but I didn't manage to make it work also.

I've read many guides or questions about this subject but most of them were not really linked to what I'm trying to do right now (have my physical machine (not the proxmox) behind the pfSense).
I think the right thing to do it make vmbr1 able to "listen" to the network the same way vmbr0 is doing it ... but I may be wrong.

Also, just to be clear, on most of the questions on this kind of subject the answer were :
- Buy a second NIC