Slow lan speed in vms

sirjerk

Apr 26, 2024
Hi, i am new to proxmox or network in general but i am trying to play around and learn something...
I unfortunatley encontered a problem with my proxmox installation on a Intel NUC 13 Pro with a 2.5 GBe Intel i225-LM nic.

I tested with both a windows 10 vm and a ubunt machine connecting a nas and the proxmox machine first to thesame switch and then directly to the router but the transfer speeds from nas to vm won't ever go over 21/22 mb/s.

I tested with other machines (not vms) and the transfer speeds go up to 90 mb/s (since my newtork has only gigabit devices it won't go much over it).

and i can't understand why the transfer speed from nas to vm is that low while the transfer speed from vm to nas goes up to 100 mb/s whitout any problem.
and even wierder is the fact that when i do a speed test over the internet i have no problem reaching 900 mbit/s in download and 300 in upload

i am using 6.8.4-2-pve kernel and both vms are using virtIO nic.

any help is welcome!

Last edited:
How do you have your network configured in Proxmox and how do you have it configured in the VM?

How do you have your network configured in Proxmox and how do you have it configured in the VM?
I'm afraid you'll have to be more specific on what configuration you need to know... because if you put it like that, first thing that comes to mind are the ip, subnet, gateway and dns configuarations... which i don't think it's what you need, but just in case i have both the proxmox and the vm with on /24 subnet and same gateway and automatic dns (which would be same as gateway)

It would be interesting and hopefully helpful to see the contents of your /etc/network/interfaces file, as well as to understand how you have configured networking in your VM. Something like this screen:
Screenshot 2024-06-21 105526.jpg