Shared LAN between 2 nodes?

jdepa

Sep 28, 2020
Hello all, fantastic product.

I have 2 PCs connected to a single router using the subnet 192.168.1.1/24.

On node_one I have a PfSense firewall with WAN IP 192.168.1.60 with interfaces vmbr0 [WAN] and vmbr1 [LAN] (subnet 10.10.10.1/24) and a bunch of workstation VMs with interface vmbr1 that connects to the Internet through the PfSense vm. This all works great!

Now I have node_two on a separate PC with only a single VM that I would like have the ability to communicate with the other vmbr1 VMs and connect to the Internet through the same pfSense that is on node_one.

I feel like it should be possible to do this but I am at a lost. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! I'm fairly new to virtual networking but I am fast study.

Hello all, fantastic product.

I have 2 PCs connected to a single router using the subnet 192.168.1.1/24.

On node_one I have a PfSense firewall with WAN IP 192.168.1.60 with interfaces vmbr0 [WAN] and vmbr1 [LAN] (subnet 10.10.10.1/24) and a bunch of workstation VMs with interface vmbr1 that connects to the Internet through the PfSense vm. This all works great!

Now I have node_two on a separate PC with only a single VM that I would like have the ability to communicate with the other vmbr1 VMs and connect to the Internet through the same pfSense that is on node_one.

I feel like it should be possible to do this but I am at a lost. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! I'm fairly new to virtual networking but I am fast study.
Hi Jdepa

Yes, it's posible to allow communication between VMs on different nodes. There are several ways to get it working, depending on your network infrastructure.

If you don't use switches that support VLANs, then the setup would look like this ...

1603702051758.png
This is a very basic setup and very easy to implement, but you'll hit some limitations as soon as you try to create additional networks.