Share folder between 2 cts

heldmar

Nov 3, 2021
Hello, I am new to Proxmox and very anxious to start using it as my homelab. I have been reading and trying to do things, and right now I am trying to do something that has taken me quite some time reading and testing without any success.

Is is possible to share via NFS from one container to another container? or a VM to a container?

Basically, I only have one single hard disk with 750GB, I created 2 containers, one with 8GB in disk (intended for Plex) and another container with 100GB to hold video files. I wanted to simply do a NFS mount between them, but seems to be impossible? Both containers ARE privileged, and in both I have marked NFS as an option.

If CT to CT is not possible, will it be possible if I create a VM to hold all my video files and share it via NFS to the container? Any guide I can read for this?

Thanks in advance.

PS: both containers are Ubuntu 20.04.

What do you mean by "normal systems"? Also, can you share some guidance on any special considerations to have? I mean, I have simply done this:

1) created both CTs as privileged
2) added "NFS" as option for both
3) created folder /mnt/shares in target CT
4) created folder in /home/shares in source CT
5) edited /etc/fstab in target CT and added line:
192.168.1.10/home/shares /mnt/shares nfs 0 0
6) restarted both CTs

That didn't do the trick. What am I missing?

What do you mean by "normal systems"?
A standard stand-alone computer.

Your problem is either 1) issues with the OS configuration (which might be better served at a forum dedicated to the distro you're using, or 2) networking issues within Proxmox (which would be prime to ask about here).