Server Migration using fsarchiver mentioned on Proxmox website:Help required

S

Shivaramakrishnan

Hi
I am a newbie to Proxmox.I wanted to migrate some servers running on debian and centos to Proxmox KVM.From the website of Proxmox,I found fsarchiver could be ideal since I would be requiring to operate at the file system level to reduce the space.Obiviously I do not want the VM created on Proxmox to be as of the Physical hard disk size.

On the physical server:
i want to make the archive:
fsarchiver -v -z 9 savefs /var/archives/dbs.fsa /dev/sda1 /dev/sda2 /dev/sda3 /dev/sda5 /dev/sda6 /dev/sda7

Details:
[root@dbs01-pleXX fsarchiver-0.6.15]# fsarchiver probe simple
[======DISK======] [=============NAME==============] [====SIZE====] [MAJ] [MIN]
[sda ] [PERC 6/i ] [ 1.36 TB] [ 8] [ 0]

[=====DEVICE=====] [==FILESYS==] [======LABEL======] [====SIZE====] [MAJ] [MIN]
[sda1 ] [ext3 ] [/ ] [ 4.88 GB] [ 8] [ 1]
[sda2 ] [ext3 ] [/opt ] [ 9.77 GB] [ 8] [ 2]
[sda3 ] [swap ] [SWAP-sda3 ] [ 8.20 GB] [ 8] [ 3]
[sda5 ] [ext3 ] [/home ] [ 4.88 GB] [ 8] [ 5]
[sda6 ] [ext3 ] [/tmp ] [ 4.88 GB] [ 8] [ 6]
[sda7 ] [ext3 ] [/var ] [ 1.33 TB] [ 8] [ 7]

[root@dbs01-pleXX fsarchiver-0.6.15]# mount
/dev/sda1 on / type ext3 (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
/dev/sda7 on /var type ext3 (rw)
/dev/sda6 on /tmp type ext3 (rw)
/dev/sda5 on /home type ext3 (rw)
/dev/sda2 on /opt type ext3 (rw)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)

I am using Proxmox 2.1.

Questions:
1. Should I include the -A switch since all the partitions are rw (I came to this conclusion seeing the output of mount).They are live systems running?
( -A: allow to save a filesystem which is mounted in read-write (live backup))