Remote desktop and gpu pass-through.

targetthis

Jul 25, 2024
Hey guys! I'm extremely new to proxmox. I just installed it and struggled for about a week trying to get gpu pass-through to work but finally got it for a few days.... I was able to install windows and setup remode desktop then close my vm and reload into the remote desktop and download drivers and other things. A couple of days later I could no longer get in through pass-through. My vm would work and let be remote in if I disabled the gpu and opened my vm but would not recognize my remote attempts if I had the gpu enabled.

Hey guys! I'm extremely new to proxmox. I just installed it and struggled for about a week trying to get gpu pass-through to work but finally got it for a few days.... I was able to install windows and setup remode desktop then close my vm and reload into the remote desktop and download drivers and other things. A couple of days later I could no longer get in through pass-through. My vm would work and let be remote in if I disabled the gpu and opened my vm but would not recognize my remote attempts if I had the gpu enabled.

How does someone get help in the community?
Some volunteer needs to come along and recognize the issue from the title or simply have a look because there are no answers yet.

I have no experience with your problem, sorry. I assume you have already setup vendor-reset because of the reset issues of Vega GPUs. Maybe check if the problem also occurs with an Ubuntu VM (or just boot your VM with the Ubuntu installer ISO)? What changed during those "couple of days" that might be related?

I haven't setup the vendor reset because I was under the impression a hard power cycle will work to reset gpu. I can set that up but didn't want to waste time doing it if it's another issue. I'm planning on completely reinstalling proxmox tomorrow and starting over. If hard reset doesn't fix Vega gpu then I'm going to shoot my big toe off

First a sidenote with GPU + RDP: