Recover VMs from previous corrupt Proxmox installation

garethw

Feb 17, 2021
My predecessor installed Proxmox on an SD memory card (apparently he didn't read that this isn't recommended!) and of course the SD card has failed. The VMs were stored on a 16TB RAID-5 volume which is intact. I installed the most recent version of Proxmox VE on a new hard drive hoping to resurrect these VMs. I can see the volume (/dev/sda1) which is called vm-data1 but I can't figure out how to access the data on the disk / mount these VMs.

qemu.JPG

This was the 2nd server in a cluster the 1st one is still operating here is what the same screen looks like on that system

qemu2.JPG

Just wondering if there is a guide or any documentation for this type of scenario. I have limited a little bit of experience with Linux but am far from an expert.

Edit: I forgot to add I tried clicking 'Create VM' thinking I could point it to the existing VM image / file but didn't see an option to do so.

Last edited:
Reactions: garrettbeachy
Here is the output of lvs / vgs / pvs it appears there are some LVM filesystems, just not sure how to mount them I don't really understand LVM

root@server2:/mnt# lvs
/dev/sdc: open failed: No medium found
LV VG Attr LSize Pool Origin Data% Meta% Move Log Cpy%Sync Convert
data pve twi-a-tz-- <3.49t 0.00 0.19
root pve -wi-ao---- 96.00g
swap pve -wi-ao---- 8.00g
vm-101-disk-0 vm-data1 -wi-a----- 200.00g
vm-101-disk-1 vm-data1 -wi-a----- 1.00t
vm-102-disk-0 vm-data1 -wi-a----- 500.00g
vm-105-disk-0 vm-data1 -wi-a----- 200.00g
vm-105-disk-1 vm-data1 -wi-a----- 5.07t
root@server2:/mnt# vgs
VG #PV #LV #SN Attr VSize VFree
pve 1 3 0 wz--n- <3.64t <16.38g
vm-data1 1 5 0 wz--n- 16.78t 9.83t
root@server2:/mnt# pvs
PV VG Fmt Attr PSize PFree
/dev/sda1 vm-data1 lvm2 a-- 16.78t 9.83t
/dev/sdb3 pve lvm2 a-- <3.64t <16.38g