reboot one node case all other nodes backup stop

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by starnetwork, Apr 20, 2019.

  1. starnetwork

    starnetwork Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi,
    in daily backup we did reboot to one of the servers
    in case of that reboot, all other nodes stop the backup proccess
    example:
    Code:
    INFO: Starting Backup of VM 117 (lxc)
    INFO: status = running
    ERROR: Backup of VM 117 failed - unable to open file '/etc/pve/nodes/server13nvme/lxc/117.conf.tmp.7676' - Permission denied
    syggestions?

    Regards,
     
  2. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,598
    Likes Received:
    306
    Hi,

    is this node a member of a cluster?
    If yes, has this node quorum?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. starnetwork

    starnetwork Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi,
    1. yes, it's member of a cluster

    2. after the reboot the node lost the quorum, after I rebooted all the nodes the quorum back to normal, it's look like the combination of backup and lost node from the cluster together Disrupted the work of the cluster
     
  4. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,598
    Likes Received:
    306
    Do you have the backup and the corosync network on the same physical network?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. starnetwork

    starnetwork Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    yes,
    we have total of 2 networks
    1. Internet

    2. internal network for Backups and cluster
     
  6. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,598
    Likes Received:
    306
    Then this is an expected behavior your backup interupt the cluster communication and loos quorum.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. starnetwork

    starnetwork Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    any suggestion how to mange it with 2 network interfaces?
    maybe vlans will help here?
    openvswitch?
     
  8. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,598
    Likes Received:
    306
    Use a second ring[1]
    This will only work if you have a powerful switch. And I mean like a Campus switch.

    No.

    1.) https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Separate_Cluster_Network
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. starnetwork

    starnetwork Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks!
    about: maybe vlans will help here?
    we using 2x Broadcom BCM56846 10GbE Low Latency Switch
    it's can work?

    Regards,
     
  10. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,598
    Likes Received:
    306
    I don't know this switch but the specs look promising.
    I think it is worth trying it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice