RAM Usage + Other Confusion

Tyler 123

Oct 3, 2022
Hi,
Im a complete noob when it comes to ProxMox and trying to understand a few items.

1) I currently have 32gb of RAM installed on this machine. I cannot figure out how much RAM Proxmox itself is using, but i have 2 Vms running Win 11 and nothing at all on them is running. VM #1 is running 4gb of ram, and it's showing as 2gb is being used at idle, or 50%. VM #2 has 12gb of ram assigned, but using 10gb or 85% and i have no idea why PM is showing that. When I login to the VM, it's showing only 20% usage in idle state, or 2gb which makes the other one as far as idle state.
I'm trying to understand why of my 32gb of ram, 85% or 25gb is being used and literally nothing is going on other than 2 idle Win11 Vms.

2) When talking about Hardware utilize, I am running 1 500gb NVM and 2x 4tb discs. Promox is installed on the 500gb nvme. However, the "Local" only has a 100gb which is going to be eating up quickly for me due to backups (until i get a NFS), IoS images, etc There is currently 360gb free on the "Local LVM" and none is being used. how can i expand the storage of the Local?

Thank you for your help!

Hey there!

First, to answer your first question:
  1. Have you installed the qemu guest agent on the Windows VMs and enabled memory ballooning? If not, neither Proxmox VE nor Qemu have any knowledge about how much RAM the guest is actually using and therefore the guest agent is needed for proper memory usage reports to the hypervisor. With memory balloning enabled (which it is by default), the VM will also report all the unused memory regions to the hypervisor and therefore the VM is only assigned the memory it currently needs. You can read more about this at [1].
  2. Are you passing through a GPU/other PCIe devices? If so, memory ballooning will not work as the whole memory for the IOMMU for the GPU/PCIe device needs to be allocated at all times for the guest sytem.

Ad 2):