[TUTORIAL] Quick setup for multiple Proxmox nodes on bare Debian 12 install

dooferorg

Apr 12, 2024
Having recently installed 6 nodes for Proxmox I figured out a way to make it a lot simpler to do if you didn't want to use the Proxmox ISO image. I didn't personally because of the partitioning decisions made. Now I'm new to Proxmox but have been using Linux for going on 30 years, mainly on Debian. I wanted this as the nodes are now part of a Ceph cluster and so the VM datastore part of the drives wasn't something I wanted on the OS drives. It was easier to leave the large NVMe SSDs out of it until the Proxmox cluster was up and running and then assign them as Ceph OSDs

I thought I'd share the scripts I used to install Proxmox consistently and quickly on all 6 nodes. Nothing too dramatic, basically putting the steps in the Wiki article in to script form for simpler usage.

Steps:

Install Debian 12 with your preferred RAID1 setup for the OS drives and appropriate swap and root partitions. Note, only select 'SSH server' and 'standard tools' (the bottom two choices on the installer) when selecting software. You don't want a lot of packages on the base nodes.

When configuring network, even if DHCP succeeds, go back a step and 'Configure manually' - At this time, set the STATIC IP you want for the node along with your appropriate network configuration (gateway, DNS etc). The reason I say do a static IP now is it really made a difference how the GUI came up. I had a lot of trouble if I went with DHCP on the host because then the /etc/hosts file would not have the host IP address and that is something that is critical for the operation of Proxmox. Doing static IPs from the very start avoided all the issues I had.

Complete the install and install the GRUB bootloader to both of your SSDs. If one fails, you still need to be able to boot the node.

Once the new system as booted up, copy over to your unprivileged user's home directory the attached scripts*