Quad Xeon Processor server slow

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by tomc, Apr 18, 2019.

  1. tomc

    tomc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I just picked up a refurbished DELL RACK MOUNT POWEREDGE R820 4 X XEON - E5-4607 2200 192GB Ram.
    Latest Proxmox installed and updated. (5.4)
    8 x 3TB 2.5" HDD Raid Z2 zfs.GUI shows total 48 cores.
    Doing some testing, installed Windows 10 pro and Windows 7 Pro.
    Both are running like "dogs".
    To make them usable I have had to run each with 16 cores and 36GB ram.
    To restore a 90GB backup (200GB VM), it took 133 minutes
    On a dell R710 Dual processor same restore takes 26 min.
    Any suggestions ???
     
  2. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    317
    depending on the workload, raidz2 is not very good for io (especially with slow spinners)
    i would suggest to instead do raid10 on that, but spinning disks are never very fast
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. tomc

    tomc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Dominik
    Thanks for the prompt reply,
    The dell R710, has same drives and and also same raid config.
    Yet it is 5 times faster than the R820

    Tom
     
  4. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    317
    is there a raid controller on the r820?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. tomc

    tomc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Dominik
    Both Servers have
    LSI SAS2008-8I SATA 9211-8i 6Gbps 8 Port.
     
  6. LnxBil

    LnxBil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3,650
    Likes Received:
    326
    Then don't run ZFS on hardware RAID. Never.
     
  7. tomc

    tomc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not using Hardware raid on either.
    Both are setup as JBOD.

    Tom
     
  8. guletz

    guletz Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    114
    Yep ....! You coud use a bigger size block(8k is default) for your VM dataset / zvol . For win10 32-64 k is ok.
     
  9. alexskysilk

    alexskysilk Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    58
    The Dell poweredge R820 is a Sandy bridge generation product. This generation of processors only have 2 QPI transports which means that in a 4 socket arrangement SOME chip-to-chip IO will have to go through two hops. When this happens the cost in latency is atrocious, and to get good i/o out of these systems you have to be VERY deliberate in your NUMA allocations, AND be very cognizant which slot controls your disk interfaces (PCI slots are pinned to a specific cpu socket.)

    This may be an instructive experiment for you- remove two cpu's out. you'll need to remove/reposition the memory associated with them, and possibly have to move cards- and see what it does to your performance :)
     
  10. tomc

    tomc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the Hint, I will try that next week and give you results.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice