PVE local space

Taleya

Aug 9, 2023
I'm a complete noob playing with proxmox, but I got it up and running except it's now saying the local (pve) is using 91.99% of 100gb (this is due to backups, which is fine). How do I resize this volume? I can't see it defined on the lsblk, and the Disks segment in the GUI just shows the BIOS/EFI/LVM partitions

The storage on this unit is a 1.2TB RAID of 300gb SAS drives, so both the VMS (2) and the PVE itself are all on LVM. I have plenty of space to expand into, I just can't find the PVE root to expand! Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Last edited:
You should be able to use lvextend to extend the root partition (found under /dev/pve/root). You could consider creating a separate LV to store the backups.

In general though it is recommended not to store backups on the same disk / machine, as this kinda defeats the purpose of taking backups.

You should be able to use lvextend to extend the root partition (found under /dev/pve/root). You could consider creating a separate LV to store the backups.

In general though it is recommended not to store backups on the same disk / machine, as this kinda defeats the purpose of taking backups.
yeah they're going offsite - the plan is 3w on system for handy reach (rollback), cron copied to an external USB drive as well as a separate file server.

Awesome, thanks for that. I didn't realise LVextend worked that way with proxmox. Will give a burl later today (after copying off the backups juuust in case....)

Reactions: shanreich
You should be able to use lvextend to extend the root partition (found under /dev/pve/root).

Sorry, more pestery questions - looking at the LVS I have some concerns, how would I proceed from here?

DATA is occupying the bulk of the hdd - do I need to resize this down to clear room for root to extend into?

root@pve:/# lvs
LV VG Attr LSize Pool Origin Data% Meta% Move Log Cpy%Sync Convert
data pve twi-aotz-- <975.10g 17.85 0.78
root pve -wi-ao---- 96.00g