Proxmox5.2 does not use all local space by default

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by Dale Sykora, Jun 20, 2018.

1. Dale Sykora

Dale Sykora New Member
    Proxmox VE Subscriber

Hello,
    I have a 2 node/2 socket subscription cluster that I am moving from Proxmox4.4 to Proxmox5.2 as 4.4 is EOL Each node has a 4TB disk and I have some shared NFS storage. I moved all VMs to node 2, removed node 1 from cluster and installed 5.2 on node 1. However, the local storage of node 1 now only has 100GB. lvdisplay shows a 3.5TB volume named data, but this is not automatically added to local for use. Comparing nodes, I noticed that node 2 mounts /dev/mapper/pve-data to /var/lib/vz but node 1 does not.
    Did the 5.2 installer ignore the data volume because it might contain useful data? If so, I will reinstall and after zeroing the disk. If it normal to leave the unneeded disk area unused, then what is the preferred way to use it? Should I just add the mount to fstab like node 2 or something else?

Thanks,
    Dale.Sykora@shschool.org

2. dietmar

dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

We now use lvm-thin by default, and the corresponding storage is called local-lvm.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Dale Sykora

Dale Sykora New Member
    Proxmox VE Subscriber

Thanks Dietmar! I did not see local-lvm listed as a storage option on the host. Only saw local (100GB) and some NFS shared storage that I use. I am going to rebuild the host again and check for local-lvm before I add it to the old cluster. I will let you know what I discover.
    Thanks,
    Dale

4. dietmar

dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

Note: Storage config on the new node gets overwritten when you add the new node to an old cluster ....

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Dale Sykora

Dale Sykora New Member
    Proxmox VE Subscriber