Proxmox VM Hardware

Ma907xb

Dec 26, 2018
USA
I'm new to IT and programming, but am excited to get into the field. It's my understanding you need 3 physical servers to setup a High availability cluster. 3 Nodes. Is 3 adequate to setup a cluster? Do I actually need 4 physical servers?

I'd like to setup a test cluster network with approx 60 VMs. I'm in the process of ordering 3 refurbished models from server monkey. I'd like to get this all setup using proxmox VE. Here is my setup.

1 x Dell PowerEdge R610 6-Port Chassis
1 x 2.93 GHz Hex-Core Intel Xeon Processor with 12MB Cache -- X567
1 x 32GB Memory Upgrade Kit (4x8GB) 2RX4 PC3-10600R
1 x PERC 6/i 256MB BBWC Lvl 0-60 INT RAID
1 x 300GB 10K RPM SAS 2.5" Dell Hard
1 x iDRAC6 Enterprise
1 x On-Board Quad Port 1GbE LOM
1 x Dell Intel PRO/1000 VT Quad-Port Gigabit Ethernet Network Interface Card
1 x (2) Dell 717 Watt PSU
1 x Dell SATA DVD-ROM 12.7mm Optical

Is this setup adequate to host 20 VMs running Ubuntu 18.04 per node?

It depends on your requirements. You need to know how many space, Ram and CPU is needed.
For HA three nodes are enough, you need a quorum, so you need an uneven amount of nodes.

Normally, I would say the CPU is enough. Thanks to KSM it might be possible that 32GB RAM are enough too. But store the OS and the VMs on a single disk might be a big problem. If every VM will use 5GB space and you will create 20 of them, then you need 100GB space. But the performance might not be enough.

Keep in mind, a dual socket system which runs only with one CPU can get unstable, this is not designed to run with only one CPU. So it's better to choose a lower CPU e.g. Quad core and install two of them.

Reactions: Ma907xb
Yes a lot depends on the VM;s and what they will be doing
e.g do you have an idea of the number of vcpu per VM and the RAM

for example if you have 20 VM per server and they are 2 GB ram and 1 VCPU you would need
40 GB RAM and 20 VCPU luckily you can over provision the RAM AND Physical CPU